Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-05-17 - 3:33 p.m.

K, I'm making the leap into the electronic journal age. Now that I've spent a significant amount of time being a voyeur to diaryland posts of friends, I'm ready to become a regular 'Doogie Howser' myself and document thoughts and stuff, and stuff.

Today, once again I contemplate the serene mysteries of the afternoon nap. Why the hell don't we get that luxury in America? I mean, the friggin' French are only allowed to work 34 hours per week by law, so why can't we have a simple afternoon nap? Vizualize having a rice mat and a nice 'wooby' blanket in your lower desk drawer, and at about 2:30 every afternoon (when lunch REALLY starts to sink in), you pull out your rice mat and crawl under your desk for a 30 minute power nap. Voila! You're set for the rest of the day, even prepared for those all-to-often overtime tasks that "absolutely, positively have to be done overnight." Surely, that cure would be much more acceptable than sitting in front of the keyboard looking like a pecking chicken, trying all the while to do anything but let your head slam onto the desk. Ah, Gen-world may have purple skies and frog-lickin' unicorns, but Q-world has afternoon naps.

previous - next

Free Guestbook from Bravenet Free Guestbook from Bravenet
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!