Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-06-12 - 8:36 a.m.

Okay, sportsfans, I'm checkin' in live from New Orleans!

Man, this place is a trip. I haven't been here before, but I guarantee I'll be back!

Got in Saturday around 1:00 after an unbelievable hassle at the airport due to Tropical Storm Allison ... I was supposed to route through Houston, and when I called at 1:00 Saturday morning to confirm the flight (and see about upgrading my ticket...), they told me the flight was still 'on time'. Whatever. Two and a half hours in line, part of which I spent on the phone with my corporate travel agent, and I finally get to the counter. See, for the first time in YEARS I was issued a paper ticket for some strange reason, and paper tickets have to be endorsed for re-routing. One word memo to all travelers -- E-TICKETS! Anyway, my travel agent had filled me in on all the skinny, even reserving me a seat on a direct USAir flight at 11:xx in case I couldn't get one of the available seats on a code share flight. Then the gal at the counter types in a couple of words, looks at me and says "I'm sorry, there's nothing available until tomorrow, so we'll have to try to rebook you." Yup, let me tell you who I'D put up against a wall at that point! Being me and all, I calmly said to her, "No, what you're going to do is put me on the 9:30 code share flight, and if you have to upgrade me for an open seat I have upgrades available." Next came the rudest neck-bobbin' I've seen in a while, as I was exposed to being told that I couldn't have better information than the counter agent. Whatever. End result, I walked on the code share plane, and they literally closed the door while I was walking down the aisle to my seat, so here I am. Whatever.

Gotta run! Tune in later this week.....

previous - next

Free Guestbook from Bravenet Free Guestbook from Bravenet
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!