Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-06-22 - 6:17 p.m.

Whew, what a week! Here it is, 6:15 pm on Friday night, and I'm just getting ready to head out. Sometimes its nice to be able to catch your breath, like I'll be able to do this weekend, since there's no event on my schedule. Yup, head home, sleep a little, hang out a little, catch up on some writing (for work, of course ... never seem to have/make time to catch up on writing for me...), and just relax in general.

Wednesday I was lucky enough to have a visit from a buddy of mine from our days at El Cid. We were both Marines stationed there to get our degrees, but he got there before I did and graduated ahead of me. I think the last time we saw each other was the day I graduated ... he gave me my commissioning oath. We went to Chili's for dinner, hung out at my place, and caught up on the last six or seven years as best you can in about four hours. Man, we've talked on the phone a little here and there, but not for the last four-ish years, so that was a lot of gossip!

And we both felt really good about getting carded for a beer, too -- see, he's two years older than I am, and he stayed at my place to avoid having to make the commute from Fredericksburg Thursday morning to pick up his son at the Naval Academy, where the rising-senior had been attending an orientation week. Did we ever have a good laugh about that! Now that he's stationed at the Pentagon, we'll be more in touch.

Today, I got a bomb dropped on me. Seems like my boss submitted a proposal to present a paper at an Army conference in Michigan on 11 July, and we were notified yesterday that it has been accepted. Problem is, he didn't remember that he'd submitted it. Same thing happened with an abstract for the Air Force IT conference in late August. His comment to the management team this afternoon was that I would do it. We kind of smiled, and he says "you can just do the same thing you'll be presenting at the Air Force conference in August." Great ... now I have two presentations to prep for that I wasn't counting on. Oh well, that will knock out half of my presentation goals for the next year. I can deal.

Yipee! Today's the last day Laura's gone!

More later. TTFN!

Q

previous - next

Free Guestbook from Bravenet Free Guestbook from Bravenet
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!