Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-09-21 - 3:16 p.m.

A Marine�s Creed

It is my destiny to serve in obscurity most of my life,

awaiting a crisis that may never come.

It is my trust to know the solution if the crisis does occur.

It is my duty to constantly give all that I have for my Country and my Corps.

---Anonymous

**********************

I used to keep a copy of this in my wallet while I was on active duty. Larger than life, we were. Gods among men, we thought. And that's the attitude that would have kept us alive had we gone to the front lines to stare at other men and make them give their lives for their countries.

Coming to terms with the fact of my own humanity has been hard enough. Now, as the baloon goes up and the bugler sounds the charge, I'm watching from the sidelines ... even as some whom I've called brother undertake the monumental task of defending our nation. Knowing that my time is over and that I can't go back is a little harder than I thought.

The heart of a warrior still beats within my chest. I still have a couple of boxes of uniforms, neatly packed away as they have been for the last three years. And my dress blues still hang ready in my closet as they always have, fully assembled with medals, ribbons and wings ... but nowhere close to fitting me anymore.

But it's no longer my show.

Don't get me wrong. I love my life, and I'm so very thankful for my circle of friends ... all of them. I wouldn't trade the life I have now for all the money in the world. Since I've been out, I've learned more about who I am and who I'd like to be when I finally grow up (if).

It's just a little more confusion on top of everything else right now, that's all.

Love ya!

q

previous - next

Free Guestbook from Bravenet Free Guestbook from Bravenet
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!