Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2001-09-28 - 8:59 a.m.

The President has asked that we unite for a common cause. Since the hard line Islamic people can not stand nudity, and consider it a sin to see a naked woman that is not their wife, tonight at 7:00, all women should run out of their house naked to help weed out the terrorists. The United States appreciates your efforts, and applauds you. God bless America.

After I picked myself up off of the floor from laughing so hard, I just thought I'd share that little tidbit someone forwarded me.


*********************


Today, I want to share a couple of stories that have directly affected me over the course of the last 17 days. The first one is a simple email exchange with a very good friend who lives in NYC and is an editor at Random House-- email was the only way to make contact right after the attack. Odd, too � notice the differences in time stamps on the email.


*********************

----- Original Message -----
Sent{to me}: Tuesday, September 11, 2001 10:33 AM
Subject: RE: my god

can't watch TV right now. They showed pictures of lower Manhattan with no
towers and I just lost it. am looking nervously at the empire state building
out my window right now.

someone sure was well-organized.

-----Original Message-----
Sent{by me}: Tuesday, September 11, 2001 10:48 AM
Subject: Re: my god

and now i hear that you got to watch yet another two buildings become
rubble.

car bomb outside the state department, another plane into the 14th Street
bridge, white house has been evacuated, another plane hijacked and in the
air right now .... what the hell is going on

god, I guess someone really wanted to make their point ....

----- Original Message -----
Sent{to me}: Tuesday, September 11, 2001 10:13 AM
Subject: RE: my god

well, I've moved into the constantly crying phase but overall still okay.

alive, thankful that I work in Midtown.

-----Original Message-----
Sent{by me}: Tuesday, September 11, 2001 10:25 AM
Subject: Re: my god

I wish that were an option. From my office window, I'm watching the
Pentagon burn right now.

I'm very thankful that you're okay.

----- Original Message -----
Sent{to me}: Tuesday, September 11, 2001 9:44 AM
Subject: RE: my god

yeah. shaky but okay. city is shut down--roads, airports, trains,
tunnels.

can barely get a phone call out of this building. WTC is about 4 blocks
south of here but can see the smoke.

want to get a gun and join up again?

-----Original Message-----
Sent{by me}: Tuesday, September 11, 2001 10:04 AM
Subject: my god

I hope you are okay, my friend

*********************


The next one came from one of my best friends from my Marine days. This Captain of Marines was at The Citadel with me in the Marine Enlisted Commissioning Education Program, and we had several classes together and spent a lot of time hanging out. He graduated shortly before me and gave me my oath when I got commissioned. Now he works in the Pentagon.


*********************

Thank God and LtGen Magnus. Programs and Resources Department was scheduled to move to new office spaces on 5 Sep. However, the Pentagon renovation folks had failed to properly opcheck the landlines and computer connections. They wanted us to delay our move for another week to 11 Sep. LtGen Magnus told the renovators to pound sand and to have the area ready within 48 hours. We eventually moved over the weekend. If it had not been for LtGen Magnus' pressing and getting us out of that area, you would have seen USMC names on the casualty list along with our Army and Navy comrades. Semper Fidelis, Joe


*********************


The last one for today is an update on a fellow Citadel grad that was injured in the Pentagon attack. Among the other postings to the Citadel Club of Greater Washington email list reporting those injured or requesting status on individuals, this one is particularly touching, because the report comes from the injured alumnus himself.


*********************

Fellow Citadel Alumni,

I came home on Tuesday. Walter Reed did an excellent job of putting Humpty Dumpty back together again. I firmly believe that the only reason I am alive is due to the quick reactions of the ER in putting in a Trachea and their foresight in knowing that I was going to crash 36 hours later. Modern technology kept me alive for several days. After spending 10 days in ICU and a few on the ward, the body is healing, and the spirit is ok.

I had just walked out of my office to talk with a member of my staff. In fact I was talking with her when the fireball and blast went through the office. Everyone who was in the office next to mine was killed in the first nanoseconds, so I can assume that had I been in my office I would have been included in that statistic. God was watching out for me. We spent 20 plus minutes trying to find a way out. In fact, someone who was watching was surprised to see us crawling out of the debris when they were ready to give up any hope of anyone else coming out of the office alive. Most of us had smoke inhalation problems, some burns, and one lady has severe burns on her hands, arms and back.

In all, the 11th was my luckiest day because unless God had given me a lot of attention, I would not be writing this e-mail.

My trachea tube is out and healing. Hands went from second degree burns to semi-normal in two weeks, again due to the great care I received. I get tired easily and have trouble talking for a long period of time, but I am generally doing fine.

Thanks for all the prayers and thoughts. Knowing everyone cared made it easier to get better.


*********************


Parting shots for today:


�We�ll go forward from here,� article from The Miami Herald


And a little bit of humour to lighten up your day

Crocodile Hunter Searches for Osama bin Laden

Day-O bin Laden Song


*********************
Love to the peeps!

Q

previous - next

Free Guestbook from Bravenet Free Guestbook from Bravenet
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!