Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-04-26 - 10:19 p.m.

Okay, so if you bet that my next entry would be in 37 days, YOU WIN!

*********************

Stuck.

That�s how I feel sometimes. Today, I heard somebody on CNN talking about something that happens when you�re 35 � how it seems like people hit 35 and start looking back on the rat race of their life and looking for ways to slow down, how they start to place more value on friendships and less value on the raw accumulation of wealth. The piece was something on how successful http://www.classmates.com has been with reconnecting people, but I really could have cared less about that (although I�ll be the first to admit that I have listed myself and have successfully reconnected with a couple of long lost friends as a result).

That made me think about myself � which is nothing new. I tend to think and analyze myself a lot more lately than I was prone to do in my younger days.

Last year, I read an article about how many vacation days people take in various countries around the world. Not surprisingly, the U.S. came in last with an average of 13 days.

Italy came in on top, with Italians taking an average of 42 days of vacation per year. That�s not a typo � 42 days per year. On average.

I think I just might want to move to Italy. The downside to that is that I�d have to leave behind all of my friends. And, believe me, I think I�m very lucky to have the core group of friends that I have. Finally, I�m feeling attached to my home environment, which is a newer concept for me (with a quick count, I think I�ve picked up and moved a grand total of 23 times in my life). As an adult, I never really looked back any time I moved (and every move as an adult was with the Marine Corps, with the exception of the last two), which isn�t to say I didn�t enjoy every place I lived. I just didn�t really feel the kind of attachment that I feel now, and the people around me were all moving as well.

I think I like it this way better.

*********************

Luv to my peeps!
Q

previous - next

Free Guestbook from Bravenet Free Guestbook from Bravenet
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!