Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-02-13 - 3:26 p.m.

And if you really know me, this won�t be a huge surprise�


*****************************************

Sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo, speaking of Madison Avenue influencing our buying decisions, with more than just a little hype�er, help�from the Doomsday squad, let�s all run out and buy up all the duct tape and plastic sheets we can get our greasy little hands on!!! Sheesh, I�m just old enough to remember having bomb shelter drills in elementary school (later changed to �inclement weather drills��same story, different name), and I learned how to duck and cover with the best of them. I remember the cold war from the most fun perspective possible�in a Marine infantry battalion on the Nuclear, Biological and Chemical Defense Control Center team studying fun topics like predicting fallout from tactical nukes or learning that the Russians trained for chemical warfare by wearing their chem suits for days on end in a live contaminated environment. And I probably don�t even need to mention the sinking feeling we all got when we realized what a �zero sum� game it was.

What the hell do they think duct tape and plastic sheeting is going to help with? Maybe if we do a good job of sealing up all of our rooms we�ll suffocate fast enough that we won�t notice the contamination? Because if it�s not sealed up air tight, then air�s still coming in�and with it, well, you know. Whatever. I live in the nation�s capital. We�re always going to have a target painted on our backs, and we�ll probably never even have advanced warning of �the one that hits us�. Terrorism works best when the crazies and crackpots actually worry their targets enough that they erratically modify their behavior (and rush out and buy more duct tape!).

Hey, at least when it�s all said and done, we�ll have some new fun stuff to get creative with. Kynny and I can make really cool duct-tape-and-plastic-sheet-sweatsuits to help accelerate our weight loss {hey, bud, you�re not the only one who too often stood up proudly and loudly proclaimed �once more into the beef, my friends!� �}. Or we can all get together with our favorite Valentines, put the plastic sheets on our beds, break out the olive oil and � well, you�ll have to fill in that part for yourself!

Fuck �em. I�ve got plenty of duct tape already (doesn�t every SCAdian?).



*********************

Luv to my peeps!
Q

previous - next

Free Guestbook from Bravenet Free Guestbook from Bravenet
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com
about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!